Here goes

Welcome to my blog!  You can find out a bit of my background info by clicking the about me tab above picture.  In a nutshell, this blog will represent my experience and perspective as a non-traditional student studying at Colorado Mountain College’s (CMC) Spring Valley campus located in Glenwood Springs, CO.  Glenwood Springs is situated in Western Colorado and is best known for its mineral swimming pools and proximity to Aspen.  I grew up here, and minus a six year absence for college and grad school, have spent my life here.  Since I am a seasoned local, I will also share some local insight. ;)

Here’s my story, briefly:

I have often been accused of being a career student, and I guess it appears that way, but I also have practical reasons for staying in school (namely the economy).   I received my M.A. in May 2008, while the economy was tanking.  After graduate school, I moved back to my hometown of Glenwood Springs to live at home and save some money.

I deferred my student loans after graduation, because I hoped to find a high-paying job that I could live on and pay back my loans.  Unfortunately this job never materialized and my deferment date grew closer.  So I decided to go back to school, keep my skills sharp, and defer my loans indefinitely until the economy improves and I could find a meaningful job.  I chose CMC because it’s cheap, nearby, and offers great programs that can help keep skills relevant.  That’s my life right now in a nutshell and why I’m here.  I will share more of my experiences later.

This blog is entirely from my perspective, and that is the theme.  I will discuss what its like to be a non-traditional student at CMC.  I will also have fun.  I read voraciously and work-out like a maniac.  I have eclectic taste in music, and am sometimes random.  In my heart, I am a writer, but practically speaking am a jack-of-all-trades.  I’ve worn many hats from English tutor to Pilates instructor and now student blogger.  I hope to share some of these sides of myself.  Finally, as I learn cool new tricks in Adobe Photoshop or HTML5/CSS3, I will share those also.  Please enjoy and take this for what it is.  If you have any questions, or would like to share some insights, post a comment and let’s start a conversation!

1 Comment

Filed under Academic, Colorado Activities, Glenwood Springs, Graphic Design, Spring Valley, Student Life, Uncategorized

One response to “Here goes

  1. John

    Excellent writer!

Leave a Reply

